The Scarecrows' Wedding at Leicester Square Theatre tickets
The Scarecrows' Wedding at Leicester Square Theatre tickets

The Scarecrows' Wedding has closed

This show has closed

About the show

Fans of The Gruffalo and Stick Man are invited to a very special occasion this summer at the Leicester Square Theatre. The Scarecrows’ Wedding is the latest collaboration from picture book favourites Julia Donaldson and Axel Schaffer, and Scamp Theatre.

Betty O’Barley and Harry O’Hay are the perfect scarecrows, and the perfect couple. They’re eagerly planning their wedding, and what a day it will be! That is, if the charming, smooth talking Reginald Rake doesn’t swoop in to take Harry’s place…

The Scarecrow’s Wedding is based on Julia Donaldson and Axel Schaffer’s beloved children’s book. Created by the incomparable Scamp Theatre, the show features music, drama and plenty of laughs to keep even the smallest audience members entertained.

Julia Donaldson and Axel Schaffer have worked together on countless children’s picture books, with modern classic including The Gruffalo and The Highway Rat being adapted for stage and television. This brand-new production of The Scarecrows’ Wedding features direction from Eva Sampson (Rudolph), design from James Button, and music and lyrics by Darren Clark.

Casting includes Katy Ellis, Patrick Orkney and Michael Palmer.

Settle down for some enchanting, hilarious fun from the masters of children’s entertainment. The Scarecrows’ Wedding at Leicester Square Theatre is a sweet and cheerful hour of music perfect for introducing children to the magic of live theatre.

Recommended for

Any parents who’ve read and re-read The Gruffalo to their children should secure tickets to this theatrical treat. The Scarecrows’ Wedding is a cheery and quirky show that will engage and enthral little ones.

Age Recommendations: Recommended 3+

Dates and times

Running time: 55 minutes
Opened: 24 Jul 2019
Booking from: 01 Sep 2019
Booking until: 01 Sep 2019

Location and map

Leicester Square Theatre
5 Leicester Place
London, WC2H 7BP

9 Reviews Add review

The show was excellent. Had both me and my 5 year old daughter laughing in delight. Knowing the book beforehand helps but is definitely... More

williamm21 1 review, 0 helpful votes

My 6 year old loved this, and found it very funny, especially the jokes, and the parts with audience participation! She loved all... More

lorettaa 1 review, 0 helpful votes

Show was wonderful. Kept my daughter and all the children transfixed and entertained. Go see it while you can!

benjackson 6'2", 23 reviews, 5 helpful votes

oughttobeclowns 5'7, 379 reviews, 37 helpful votes

Loved it and so did my kid. Very entertaining and very funny. Would highly recommend.

govindk1 1 review, 0 helpful votes

benjackson 6'2", 23 reviews, 5 helpful votes

Excellent production. Took my five-year old and eight year old grandsons they loved it. Lots of music singing and dancing. Brilliant! More

avrilh1 1 review, 0 helpful votes

Really enjoyed the show my grandchildren age 3 and 6 didn’t stop laughing all the way through, the actors were great and really gave... More

fionay2 1 review, 0 helpful votes

yuliau 1 review, 0 helpful votes