The Worst Witch at Vaudeville Theatre tickets
The Worst Witch at Vaudeville Theatre tickets

The Worst Witch has closed

This show has closed

About the show

Beloved children’s book series The Worst Witch is adapted into a new stage production by Emma Reeves and directed by Theresa Heskins. Jill Murphy’s tale of witch Mildred Hubble will play at the Vaudeville Theatre this summer.

The Worst Witch series was first published in 1974, with the latest book written as recently as 2018. The books were adapted into a television film starring Tim Curry in 1986, and later into a TV series in the late 90s. This theatrical adaptation first premiered in Northampton in 2018, before embarking on a UK tour.

Meet Mildred Hubble, an accident-prone pupil at a school for witches. Now in her final year, Mildred and her friends are about to take on their biggest adventure yet! But jealous Ethel Hallow is out to spoil Mildred’s fun, and Miss Hardbroom simply hates all fun. Whilst Mildred is about to magic up some mayhem to upset the pair, an old enemy returns with a plan to not just threaten the school, but the whole world…

Award-winning writer Emma Reeves adapts the series. Reeves has also adapted Jacqueline Wilson novel Hetty Feather for the stage, as well as writing episodes for Tracy Beaker and Young Dracula. Theresa Heskins directs. Heskins won the UK Theatre Award for Best Show for Children and Young People in 2017. She is also the artistic director for the New Vic Theatre in Staffordshire.

Filled with original songs, music, and plenty of magic and mischief, The Worst Witch is the perfect show for the whole family to see this summer. The Worst Witch plays at London’s Vaudeville Theatre from July 24th-September 8th.

Recommended for

This show is perfect for anyone who loved Jill Murphy’s original book series, as well as families who would like to see a fun show this summer. The show is also perfect for fans of Harry Potter.
Please note children under the age of 12 months will not be permitted into the theatre.

Age Recommendations: 7+, no children under 12 months will be permitted.

Dates and times

Running time: 2 hours 10 minutes (including interval)
Opened: 24 Jul 2019
Booking from: 07 Sep 2019
Booking until: 08 Sep 2019

Location and map

Vaudeville Theatre
The Strand
London, WC2R 0NH

40 Reviews Add review

Good show with interesting plot. For the price it was better than expected. I can imagine that as a child I would have enjoyed it more! More

sarahc53 1 review, 0 helpful votes

Took my young sibling but REALLY enjoyed it myself. Production was amazing and cast very talented. If it ever tours again or returns... More

taraq 5”7, 12 reviews, 0 helpful votes

Cast played their roles with energy and a contagious enthusiasm. My granddaughter was thrilled when they came out before the show and... More

sandraab 1 review, 0 helpful votes

The show was solid if unspectacular. A few awesome moments of staging and two standout performances from Polly Lister and Rosie Abraham... More

krisblackburn 2 reviews, 0 helpful votes

The show was amazing, l loved it. It was very funny and very interesting. There were a few moments where I thought it was a bit cheesy... More

sarahward 5 foot, 304 reviews, 6 helpful votes

Fabulous show.

kellym6 2 reviews, 0 helpful votes

Fabulous show for kids and adult fans of the books alike.

Learslostwife 5'4", 23 reviews, 0 helpful votes

Great show! The cast interact with audience before the show

lisav1 14 reviews, 0 helpful votes

My daughter and myself throughly enjoyed the show.

lisav1 14 reviews, 0 helpful votes