The Inheritance Part 2 at Barrymore Theatre tickets
The Inheritance Part 2 at Barrymore Theatre tickets

The Inheritance Part 2

About the show

Please Note: The Inheritance is a two-part play. The Inheritance: Part 1 can be viewed separately here.

Olivier Award winning American epic The Inheritance transfers to Broadway after immense critical acclaim at London’s Young Vic and Noël Coward theaters. Following the lives of three generations of gay men, this epic play is split into two parts and can be watched over one day or consecutive evenings at the Barrymore Theatre.

Set in New York, The Inheritance initially follows a group of gay men as they experience the turbulence of contemporary love and life. Branching out to represent individuals over the prior three decades who are all searching for community and acceptance, the show has drawn comparisons to the generation-defining masterpiece Angels in America. With plot inspiration expertly taken from E.M. Forster’s Howards End, the show is a deeply emotional – but often piercingly funny – meditation on what we owe to the legacy of our fore-bearers.

Playwright Matthew Lopez previously won an Obie Award for The Whipping Man (2006), andThe Inheritance marks his Broadway debut. The play is directed by Tony, Olivier and Emmy Award winner Stephen Daldry (Billy Elliot the Musical, The Crown). Other creatives include designer Bob Crowley and lighting by Jon Clark.

Original West End cast members Andrew Burnap, John Benjamin Hickey, Paul Hilton, Samuel H. Levine and Kyle Soller reprise their roles in the transfer; Soller won Best Actor at the 2019 Olivier Awards for his performance. New cast members include Jordan Barbour, Dylan Frederick and Tony Award nominee Lois Smith.

The Inheritance on Broadway can be experienced over the course of one epic day or savoured across individual nights. Part 2 of this compelling and sharp new play begins previews at the Barrymore Theatre on October 11 2019.

Recommended for

Fans of Tony Kushner or Kevin Elyot should consider booking tickets to this epic, heart-breaking and humorous saga. The Inheritance is also a sure hit for younger theatregoers thanks to its fresh-eyed and personal take on relevant political and social issues.

Age Recommendations: Recommended 14+

Add to Wishlist to receive price alerts and deals.

Dates and times

Running time: 3 hours 20 minutes (including an intermission)
Opened: 11 Oct 2019
Booking from: 11 Oct 2019
Booking until: 01 Mar 2020

Location and map

Barrymore Theatre
243 W 47th St
New York, NY 10036

3 Reviews Add review

kristopherkaye 11 reviews, 0 helpful votes

Very good play, better than part 1. It is long but it flows well and doesn't feel like 3 plus hours.

BriT 16 reviews, 0 helpful votes

tomman27 175cm, 38 reviews, 0 helpful votes