SeatPlan Logo
The Worst Witch hero image
The Worst Witch hero image
The Worst Witch hero image

The Worst Witch Tickets

Vaudeville Theatre

Jill Murphy’s beloved children’s series The Worst Witch is reimagined in a new action-packed stage adaptation by Emma Reeves, playing at the Vaudeville Theatre from 24th- July – 8th September. The show features original songs, music, and, of course, magic and mischief.

Beloved children’s book series The Worst Witch is adapted into a new stage production by Emma Reeves and directed by Theresa Heskins. Jill Murphy’s tale of witch Mildred Hubble will play at the Vaudeville Theatre this summer.

The Worst Witch series was first published in 1974, with the latest book written as recently as 2018. The books were adapted into a television film starring Tim Curry in 1986, and later into a TV series in the late 90s. This theatrical adaptation first premiered in Northampton in 2018, before embarking on a UK tour.

Meet Mildred Hubble, an accident-prone pupil at a school for witches. Now in her final year, Mildred and her friends are about to take on their biggest adventure yet! But jealous Ethel Hallow is out to spoil Mildred’s fun, and Miss Hardbroom simply hates all fun. Whilst Mildred is about to magic up some mayhem to upset the pair, an old enemy returns with a plan to not just threaten the school, but the whole world…

Award-winning writer Emma Reeves adapts the series. Reeves has also adapted Jacqueline Wilson novel Hetty Feather for the stage, as well as writing episodes for Tracy Beaker and Young Dracula. Theresa Heskins directs. Heskins won the UK Theatre Award for Best Show for Children and Young People in 2017. She is also the artistic director for the New Vic Theatre in Staffordshire.

Filled with original songs, music, and plenty of magic and mischief, The Worst Witch is the perfect show for the whole family to see this summer. The Worst Witch plays at London’s Vaudeville Theatre from July 24th-September 8th.

Sorry this show closed 08 September 2019, we recommend these similar productions.

Fawlty Towers
A View From the Bridge
The Mousetrap
Performance dates:
07 Sep 2019 - 08 Sep 2019
Running time:
2 hours and 10 minutes including an interval.
Age recommendation:
7+, no children under 12 months will be permitted.
Audience Notes:
This show is perfect for anyone who loved Jill Murphy’s original book series, as well as families who would like to see a fun show this summer. The show is also perfect for fans of Harry Potter.
Please note children under the age of 12 months will not be permitted into the theatre.
Categories:

The Worst Witch Reviews

4.4
40 Reviews
  • 5 Stars55%
  • 4 Stars35%
  • 3 Stars8%
  • 2 Stars0%
  • 1 Stars3%

User Reviews

Good show with interesting plot. For the price it was better than expected. I can imagine that as a child I would have enjoyed it more!

Performance date: 03 September 2019

Cast played their roles with energy and a contagious enthusiasm. My granddaughter was thrilled when they came out before the show and Mildred gave her a high 5 even though we were sitting mid row. Ethel was suitably snooty.

Performance date: 18 August 2019
Verified

Took my young sibling but REALLY enjoyed it myself. Production was amazing and cast very talented. If it ever tours again or returns to the West End I'd definitely look at seeing it again

Performance date: 31 August 2019
1/14
Your basket is empty.