SeatPlan Logo

Best Plays in London 2022

The West End is renowned for its world-class entertainment, and the best plays in London have a long history of drawing in audiences with unforgettable performances and thrilling plots. Agatha Christie’s famous whodunnit, The Mousetrap, even holds the title of longest-running show in the world, beating hit musicals like Les Misérables and The Phantom of the Opera.

Major revivals, fresh new work and book adaptations frequently open to massive acclaim, and at SeatPlan we have an eye on the latest announcements to help you keep up with the buzz. With big names a common sight in West End plays, you might even get to see your favourite actor perform live!

Below, we’ve pulled together a list of current and upcoming plays we think you’ll love. New shows are confirmed every month or two, so check back regularly for our latest pick of unmissable drama and comedies.

When booking, don’t forget to check our user-submitted seat reviews. Our community of theatre fans have uploaded more than 60,000 seat view photos and over 100,000 ratings to help you find hidden gems and great seats for your budget in the West End.
To Kill A Mockingbird London
To Kill A Mockingbird London

To Kill A Mockingbird

Drama - Broadway transfer - Book to stage adaptation

Harper Lee's classic tale of racism and injustice in the Southern states of America is a runaway hit in the West End, after huge acclaim on Broadway. Rafe Spall stars as lawyer Atticus Finch, with a script by Academy Award winner Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network). After receiving 5 star reviews, this tense and engaging courtroom drama is a hot ticket for 2022.
from £27.00
258 seat views
My Neighbour Totoro London
My Neighbour Totoro London

My Neighbour Totoro

Fantasy - Family show - Film adaptation

Discover the fantastical world of Studio Ghibli, as one of its most beloved films is adapted into a dazzling stage production for the whole family. Developed by the Royal Shakespeare Company, whose Olivier Award-winning Matilda the Musical is still delighting audiences in London, My Neighbour Totoro is a heartwarming story of sisterhood and childhood imagination.
from £33.00
Opens October 2022
Good London
Good London

Good

Drama - Star casting - Classic play

David Tennant returns to the West End in this compelling drama about a German professor who finds his morals tested as the Nazi Party comes into power. Playwright C.P. Taylor's classic is a powerful exploration of how and why so many "good" people enabled a fascist regime, and director Dominic Cooke's production is sure to be a challenging and relevant revival.
from £24.00
Opens October 2022
The Seagull London
The Seagull London

The Seagull

Drama - Star casting - Updated classic

Game of Thrones star Emilia Clarke makes her West End debut as ingenue Nina in a new version of Chekhov’s play. Directed by Jamie Lloyd, who is best known for making classic plays exciting and accessible for modern audiences, it follows his hugely well-reviewed version of Cyrano de Bergerac with James McAvoy.
from £18.00
55 seat views
save £26.00
Life of Pi London
Life of Pi London

Life of Pi

Drama - Award-winner - Book to stage adaptation

Sheffield Crucible’s acclaimed production of Yann Martel’s Booker Prize-winning novel has wowed audiences in the West End, offering a chance to step into a breath-taking world of adventure, friendship and imagination. With extraordinary puppets conjuring the sights and sounds of monkeys, birds and the fearsome tiger Richard Parker in the Wyndham's Theatre auditorium, this Olivier Award-winning, multi-sensory theatrical achievement isn't one to miss.
from £30.00
438 seat views
The Play That Goes Wrong London
The Play That Goes Wrong London

The Play That Goes Wrong

Comedy - Long-running show - Audience favourite

Join the hopeless Cornley Polytechnic Drama Society as they perform a 1920s murder mystery where legs aren’t the only thing being broken! With sets collapsing and the cast going spectacularly off-script, this award-winning delight from Mischief Theatre follows in the hazardous footsteps of Noises Off and is perfect for fans of Fawlty Towers’ most unpredictably slapstick moments.
from £24.00
606 seat views
The Doctor London
The Doctor London

The Doctor

Drama - Award-winner - Updated classic

Juliet Stevenson stars in this gripping moral thriller, adapted and directed by theatrical heavyweight Robert Icke. Having previously opened to huge acclaim at the Almeida Theatre, this story about a Jewish doctor who finds herself embroiled in a controversy about religion, ethics and identity was an instant conversation starter - and Olivier Award winner. Join the debate during its anticipated transfer to the West End.
from £18.00
Opens September 2022
Your basket is empty.