SeatPlan Logo

Best Plays in London 2022

The West End is renowned for its world-class entertainment, and the best plays in London have a long history of drawing in audiences with unforgettable performances and thrilling plots. Agatha Christie’s famous whodunnit, The Mousetrap, even holds the title of longest-running show in the world, beating hit musicals like Les Misérables and The Phantom of the Opera.

Major revivals, fresh new work and book adaptations frequently open to massive acclaim, and at SeatPlan we have an eye on the latest announcements to help you keep up with the buzz. With big names a common sight in West End plays, you might even get to see your favourite actor perform live!

Below, we’ve pulled together a list of current and upcoming plays we think you’ll love. New shows are confirmed every month or two, so check back regularly for our latest pick of unmissable drama and comedies.

When booking, don’t forget to check our user-submitted seat reviews. Our community of theatre fans have uploaded more than 60,000 seat view photos and over 100,000 ratings to help you find hidden gems and great seats for your budget in the West End.
Life of Pi London
Life of Pi London

Life of Pi

Drama - Acclaimed West End transfer - Book to stage adaptation

Sheffield Crucible’s acclaimed production of Yann Martel’s Booker Prize-winning novel transfers to the West End, offering audiences a chance to step into a breath-taking world of adventure, friendship and imagination. With extraordinary puppets conjuring the sights and sounds of monkeys, birds and the fearsome tiger Richard Parker in the Wyndham's Theatre auditorium, this multi-sensory theatrical achievement isn't one to miss.
from £25.00
95 seat views
Cyrano de Bergerac London
Cyrano de Bergerac London

Cyrano de Bergerac

Drama - Award-winning play - Star casting

James McAvoy reprises his Olivier Award nominated performance as soldier and poet Cyrano. McAvoy, director Jamie Lloyd and playwright Martin Crimp transform the classic French play into an electrifying, stripped-back production that kept audiences gripped at the Playhouse Theatre in 2020. It's back in the West End for just five weeks, so book now to avoid missing out.
from £47.00
Opens February 2022
The Shark Is Broken London
The Shark Is Broken London

The Shark Is Broken

Comedy - Acclaimed West End transfer - New writing

Dive into the true story of Jaws’ famously hectic filming schedule in this Edinburgh Festival hit! Based on actor Robert Shaw’s diaries, the quirky three-hander explores the off-camera relationship between stars Shaw, Roy Scheider and Richard Dreyfuss, and the unbelievable obstacles the crew faced while filming the legendary monster movie.
from £38.70
112 seat views
The Human Voice London
The Human Voice London

The Human Voice

Drama - Monologue - Star casting

Stage and screen star Ruth Wilson teams up with visionary director Ivo van Hove as his acclaimed version of this classic French play opens in London. Wilson plays a woman whose lover of five years is about to marry someone else, prompting a desperate phone call as she begs him to change his mind. This thrilling play, featuring some of our best creative talent, is in London for just three weeks.
from £23.80
Opens March 2022
The Ocean at the End of the Lane London
The Ocean at the End of the Lane London

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

Drama - Acclaimed West End transfer - Book to stage adaptation

After a critically-acclaimed premiere at the National Theatre in 2020, the spellbinding adaptation of Neil Gaiman's fantasy novel is now open at the Duke of York's Theatre. The magical story combines fantasy, horror and childhood nostalgia, and translates Gaiman's signature, darkly enchanting style to the stage with incredible results.
from £21.40
92 seat views
save £23.25
Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of) London
Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of) London

Pride and Prejudice* (*sort of)

Comedy - Book to stage adaptation - New writing

Jane Austen's classic tale of wit and romance gets an adaptation like no other in this energetic new show. Featuring an all-female cast belting out hits from Carly Simon and Candi Staton, this Edinburgh Festival hit follows a group of overlooked servants as they throw down tools and re-enact the ultimate rom-com.
from £9.90
213 seat views
save £13.00
The Play That Goes Wrong London
The Play That Goes Wrong London

The Play That Goes Wrong

Comedy - Long-running show - Audience favourite

Join the hopeless Cornley Polytechnic Drama Society as they perform a 1920s murder mystery where legs aren’t the only thing being broken! With sets collapsing and the cast going spectacularly off-script, this award-winning delight from Mischief Theatre follows in the hazardous footsteps of Noises Off and is perfect for fans of Fawlty Towers’ most unpredictably slapstick moments.
from £23.80
453 seat views
Prima Facie London
Prima Facie London

Prima Facie

Opens April 2022
To Kill A Mockingbird London
To Kill A Mockingbird London

To Kill A Mockingbird

from £29.80
Opens May 2022
Your basket is empty.