SeatPlan Logo
A Strange Loop on Broadway hero image
A Strange Loop on Broadway hero image
A Strange Loop on Broadway hero image

A Strange Loop on Broadway Tickets

Lyceum Theatre

Michael R. Jackson’s Pulitzer Prize-winning musical is a hilarious, straight-shooting look into the mind of a young, Black, queer artist.

A bold new American musical

Michael R. Jackson’s award-winning, metafictional musical A Strange Loop bursts onto Broadway, taking audiences on an exhilarating journey through the mind of an aspiring artist.

Usher - who works as an usher at The Lion King - is a Black, queer writer, writing a musical about a Black queer writer. The writer in his musical is also writing a musical about a Black queer writer. As he battles to break away from his own self-perception, Usher’s internal monologue is brought to life by a hilarious ensemble in this blisteringly funny new Great American Musical.

A Strange Loop is the Pulitzer Prize-winning musical from Michael R. Jackson, which first premiered Off-Broadway at Playwrights Horizons. Jackson wrote the book, music and lyrics for his metafictional show, which addresses themes of race, sexuality and identity through the creative process of one artist.

On Broadway, A Strange Loop is directed by Stephen Brackett and choreographed by Raja Feather Kelly.

Delve into the mind of a young creative and discover an exciting new approach to the musical genre with A Strange Loop tickets.

Sorry this show closed 15 January 2023, we recommend these similar productions.

Wicked on Broadway
Hamilton on Broadway
Performance dates:
16 Nov 2022 - 15 Jan 2023
Running time:
1 hour and 30 minutes.
Age recommendation:
Best for age 16+

A Strange Loop on Broadway Reviews

4.5
97 Reviews
  • 5 Stars70%
  • 4 Stars19%
  • 3 Stars8%
  • 2 Stars1%
  • 1 Stars2%

User Reviews

Verified

An incredible, thought-provoking, visceral show that tackles important subjects such as race, sexuality, mental health and religion while bringing lots of laugh. Somehow, all of that is done in a complex meta-structure (the musical is about the main Read more

Performance date: 21 April 2022

Subversive, challenging, thought provoking, Pulitzer Prize winning, modern story by Michael R Jackson, about a Broadway usher named Usher trying to write a musical - in the vein of Tick, Tick, Boom or a Chorus Line, but via the author’s experience as Read more

Performance date: 26 May 2022

A story that should have been told a while ago! It started at Playwright Horizons and eventually transferred to Broadway! I could not be more in amazed by the story and production.

Performance date: 14 May 2022
1/33
Your basket is empty.